Book Review: Make You Burn by Megan Crane

isbn9781472236791

Genre: Contemporary Romance. MC Romance.

Meet the Deacons of Bourbon Street, bad boy bikers who are hell on wheels and heaven between the sheets. Fans of Madeline Sheehan, Katie Ashley, Joanna Wylde and Kristen Ashley, buckle up – you’re in for a wild ride. First stop: Make You Burn by Megan Crane.

Sean ‘Ajax’ Harding’s oaths are inked into his skin. Once second-in-command of the Deacons of Bourbon Street motorcycle club, he left New Orleans to protect his brotherhood. But the death of his beloved mentor, Priest Lombard, has lured him back. Heading straight to the club’s hangout, he’s welcomed by the delectable new owner. A wild ride with her is just what he needs – until he finds out she’s Priest’s daughter, all grown up and off limits.

Sophie Lombard loved her father, but she’s done with bikers. Then Ajax roars into town and changes everything. Sophie knows better than to get close to an outlaw but Ajax is impossible to resist. Their chemistry is steamier than the Louisiana bayou – and with heat like this, it might just be worth getting burned.

 

 

SGMyReview

Stepping into the world of the Deacons of Bourbon Street is as thrilling as a fast paced ride on the back of a motorcycle. The first book, Make You Burn, is a scorching read covering loss, love, and tragedy. Sophie tries to navigate life without her father, the president of the local disbanded MC club, after he dies mysteriously in a riding accident. Enter, Ajax, returned home after ten years of exile by Sophie’s dad, slipping into the role of President. 

It was great to read a female lead who gave as good as she got. Sophie did not back down from a guy like Ajax, and was able to me meet him head on, creating chemistry off the charts. There’s a lot of mystery surrounding why Ajax and the three ‘brothers’ were exiled, and whilst you don’t find out in this book, the story line offers enough mystery and clues to start piecing the puzzle together.

“Why had Priest sent four of his most loyal and trusted brothers away ten years ago? Sure, shit had gone down wrong and blood called for blood, but why four exiled lives for one death? That math had never worked”.

I loved the setting of New Orleans-reading her as another character that created depth to the story. The book is full of flawed characters who live in a dark and dirty world. Together, can they create the light that can dim the darkness of the back alleys of NOLA?

A great read for anyone who loves a good, well-written, MC genre story.

~Book 1 in the Deacons of Bourbon Street. Look out for my future reviews of the rest of the series! 

Buy the book

amazon-logo
KoboButton

ibooks-logo

Google-play-logo

About the Author:

megancrane

Megan Crane is a New Jersey native who had great plans to star on Broadway, preferably in Evita, just like Patti LuPone. Sadly, her inability to wow audiences with her singing voice required a backup plan. Accordingly, she graduated from Vassar College and got her MA and PhD in literature from the University of York in England. She wrote her doctoral dissertation on AIDS literature, mostly so she could wallow in her obsession with the remarkable multimedia artist David Wojnarowicz and her idol, the bitter and hilarious David Feinberg. After many years in the rain and subject to the whim of seasons, she followed the sun to Los Angeles, where she lives with too many pets and an artist named Jeff. She is still plotting her Broadway debut.

Visit Megan’s website www.megancrane.com, find her on 63df2-icon-facebook-128 and on twitter-button

 

Advertisements

Book Review: Marigny Street by Annie Rose Welch

Marigny Street
(Saving Angels Series #1)
 Annie Rose Welch
 Genre: Romance
Do you believe in the power of dreams?

Way down south on Marigny Street in the heart of New Orleans, the land of Catholic intercessions, purgatory, and supernatural superstitions, young Evangeline Chenier dreams of a radiant boy who saves her from a storm. She takes the dream seriously – in her family, dreams are sometimes more than dreams. Sometimes they foretell the future. Sometimes they create it.Years later, Eva is no longer the same wistful girl but a hardened woman who no longer believes in dreams. Losing faith in her gift, she becomes lost in a nightmare of emotion, mourning her son, separating from her husband, and stewing in a dead-end job. And then fate brings her an unlikely surprise: one of the most famous movie stars in the world, Gabriel Roberts.

Caught by something in his eyes, Eva agrees to show him the real Big Easy on his last night in New Orleans—an evening that turns into four dreamy days spent recapturing lost faith and discovering a love neither expected. Realizing Gabriel is the boy from her childhood dream, Eva must leave everything behind—her husband, her family, her history, and the beautiful city she calls home—and gamble it all for the dream that has saved her on MARIGNY STREET.

Excerpt

I shook my head. “Tell me, Gabriel, what are your dreams about?”
“Nothing.  I never dream.”  He shrugged.
“Never?”
“I’ve never once in my life had a dream.  And I never look in a mirror – or I try my hardest not to anyway.”
“Why?”  How could you never dream?  Or look in a mirror?
He sighed.  “I believe the only things in this life that can truly show your reflection are the things you love the most in this world.  And I don’t love myself enough to want to look in the mirror.”
He laughed.  “But when I look at you I can see myself perfectly.  And even though I never dream, I do pray.  Do you  to know what I prayed for before I met you?”
I nodded.
“I prayed for an angel – to save me.  I asked for a little help from up above, and now you’re here.  You are cake and ice cream; sugar and spice, and everything nice.  And when you smile, you make me feel the way the world looks when the sun shines through a foggy day.”   
All I could do was smile.

SGMyReview

“A story of loss, faith, and a love that transcends space and time.”

I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into with this book. The tagline is as mysterious and the story that unfolds. It’s a mystery, as well as a heartbreaking story of love. A love so intense that it hurts to breathe. The mystery revolves around the circumstances of how the two main characters meet. Eva goes through an unimaginable tragedy in life and has given up on life and living. Can the mystery man she meets on the steps of the courthouse be her salvation? Set in New Orleans, there’s a great blend of culture that comes through the pages. 

The beginning of the book is totally unexpected. The lilting of the Cajun language had me intrigued and wondering about the world of dreams and reality. The story really picks up half way through the book as you start putting the pieces of the puzzle together. Definitely makes you read through to the end to find out if what you’re expecting is what happens.

One of my favourite moments in the book happens about half way through:

“What is your full name, Eva?”
“Evangeline Maria Chenier.”
“Evangeline, Evangeline,” he softly whispered, almost like a song, with reverence.
“Evangeline Maria Chenier. You’re not done living yet, the best is yet to come. You’re going to be just fine. You are.”
“Do you think you’ll ever be the same?”
“Never. But not because of the path I followed. I’ll never be the same because I found you.” He smiled.

A lovely reminder to live, not just exist. Read this book if you’re after a little love story mixed in with mystery.

 

 

Buy Linksamazonbutton

Barnes-Noble-Buy-Button

 

 

Author Bio

Born and raised in New Orleans, Annie has a habit of shortening her words and telling long stories. She speaks with a southern flair and cooks with it too. At the tender age of twenty- one, she hitched up her wagons (took her first plane ride) and moved out west to the big shake (California). Her writing career began one sleepless night when she imagined a gorgeous woman and a man with maniacal hair floating above her like lightening bugs falling from the sky. Curious about them, their story, and why they were floating around in her head, she sat down and penned (typed) her first novel, Marigny Street. A dream come true for her, she hasn’t stopped writing since. She loves a damn good love story, always has, no matter what the genre. She is particularly moved by imperfect love that in its own unique way is perfect, the notion of love at first sight, soul mates, and things that are generally out of the norm.

When she’s not writing she enjoys dabbling in photography and finding new, inspirational music to add to her collection. Deciding on a whim to hitch up those same wagons, Annie currently resides in Texas (where everything is bigger) with her husband, daughter, and their two peculiar dogs, Boudreaux and Tabasco (who, call her crazy, bark with an accent).

For lagniappe (a little extra), a virtual cup of café au lait and beignets, please visit Annie’s website: www.annierosewelch.com

She can also be found on Facebook & Twitter.
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAnnieRoseWelch
Twitter: https://twitter.com/angelwriter11
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7159582.Annie_Rose_Welch
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Annie-Rose-Welch/e/B00DQSYDTM/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Book supplied for an honest review

Annie Rose Welch – Saving Angels Series

On Sale for $1.99 until January 11th, 2016

SavingAngels 

Buy Links:

Amazon US; http://amzn.to/1O4V1E2

Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/kgzwTk

Amazon CA: http://goo.gl/NieQef

Amazon AU: http://goo.gl/tT6Qt7