Book Review: HEARTthrob by Belinda Williams

heartthrob

Hollywood Hearts Book (1)

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Women’s Fiction

CAN AN AVERAGE GIRL SURVIVE HOLLYWOOD?

Ally Valenti doesn’t belong in Hollywood. Not like her friend and actress, Lena Lyons. Lena’s convinced Ally to pursue her dreams of fashion design, starting with some gowns for the awards season.

Which Ally will get around to creating as soon as she can stop looking at Jacob Swan, Lena’s latest cdvuymsbcsxs9ao-star. Not that she’s staring. Ally’s skeptical of anything celebrity and it’s not like she’d be pathetic enough to fall for a Hollywood heartthrob.

Then Ally learns there’s more to Jacob than his good guy, all-American persona. She finds herself torn between the desire to get to know him better and her determination to stay out of the limelight.

Of course the media has other ideas—and someone doesn’t like all the attention Ally’s getting. When threats aimed at destroying her fashion career go too far, Ally’s convinced she’s living in crazy town.

The sensible thing would be to retreat home before it all ends in spectacular fashion. But will Ally be leaving more than her dreams behind if she says goodbye to Hollywood?

This glamorous, fast-paced contemporary romance that will make you smile, is perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Victoria Dahl, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Liliana Hart.

SGMyReview

Belinda Williams has knocked it out of the park again with this contemporary romance book set in Hollywood, USA! Her latest series is a new step into the world of glitz and glamour, and I couldn’t be more excited to read it. One thing I really value in Belinda Williams as an author, is her ability to create a world that you feel a part of. You instantly feel connected to the characters, and are cheering for them on the side. I’ve got to say, there was a moment in this book that I thought we had reached an arc, and 3o6zt0im82qhmdmjrethem BAM, she throws me off my feet and we go in a completely different direction. It made the read exciting, and engaging. This book has loads of things for any fan of women’s fiction. It’s not all lovey dovey, but has some depth and had me flipping through the pages in one sitting.

Although this is a part of a series, you can read these books and not worry about the ending!! For that reason, I look forward to following this world Belinda Williams is creating, and you should too!

BUY THE BOOK:
Amazon    Nook    Kobo

AuthorWebsitebutton

Book Review: It’s Not Me, It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane

itsnotmeGenre: Women’s Fiction. Adult Literature.

Delia Moss isn’t quite sure where she went wrong.

When she proposed and discovered her boyfriend was sleeping with someone else – she thought it was her fault.

When she realised life would never be the same again – she thought it was her fault.

And when he wanted her back life nothing had changed – Delia started to wonder if perhaps she was not to blame…

From Newcastle to London and back again, with dodgy jobs, eccentric bosses and annoyingly handsome journalists thrown in, Delia must find out where her old self went – and if she can ever get her back.

MyReviewBadge

This story had me aching with the intensity reserved for stories that really touch my emotions. The beginning had me gasping and being all of the sad, but it set me on a path that throughout the book I was rooting for Delia to get through life and make good choices. There were many times were I didn’t know where the author was going to go in regards to relationships in the book, and it made me even more excited and anxious to keep reading. This book was a great read, and will leave the reader on an emotional roller coaster, but fear not, you’ll get to the end and be ready to ride again! I vote this book as very enjoyable, clever, smart, funny, and emotional. Get on it! This is McFarlane’s third novel and I’m now on a mission to read her first two, especially if they’re as clever and easy to read as this one was.

Buy Links:

 Find a local bookseller

About The Author:

McFarlane11443Mhairi was born in Scotland in 1976 and her unnecessarily confusing name is pronounced Vah-Ree.

After some efforts at journalism, she started writing novels. It’s Not Me, It’s You is her third book. She lives in Nottingham, with a man and a cat.

Author Page on Harper Collins   Twitter   Goodreads

books1b

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Review: Cover Story by Rachel Bailey

9781760082086_Cover-Story_cover

Genre: Contemporary Romance. Romance. Women’s Fiction.

Unfortunately, her editor doesn’t have the same vision. His vision has her investigating a series of gnomicides. Yes, gnomicides the wagardengnome1nton murder of garden gnomes.

It’s a nightmare for Tobi. She’s spent her life working towards a career she can be proud of and proving she’s nothing like her mother. She’s intelligent, independent and so uptight she can’t even let go to sneeze properly and, unlike her colleagues, she certainly can’t appreciate the funny side of the situation. She wants to work on the big story a cover-up in a senator’s office.

Reluctantly, she interviews Simon, the man who reported the ‘incident’ to the newspaper clearly a lunatic his four-year old daughter, and the other residents of the street. Each has their own theory about the murderer, ranging from the slightly possible to the ludicrous and Tobi, unfortunately affected by her pollen allergy and having to repress sneezes regularly, writes the story.

Her editor loves it and demands more; interstate papers pick it up and reader feedback is overwhelming. Apparently, she’s not going anywhere just yet and, dammit, that means facing her pesky attraction to Simon. Along the way, Tobi discovers there are many truths and secrets to be uncovered other people’s as well as her own. The question is, will the truth really set her free?

B0YRIiKCQAAk1IQ

By far one of my favourite reads of 2014. The gnome puns kept me smiling throughout the book, and the relationships of the street meshing together made for a gnomely (read: homely rhymes with gnomely!!) feel. I enjoyed the relationship / romance build up of the main characters, and it was nice to read a female character who was in control, but not obnoxiously so. Watching her unravel and release that control without realising it was a delight, and I loved the way it all wrapped up in the end. This book proves you don’t need R rated scenes to create a love/suspenseful/mystery story. The author did a great job giving each of the multitude of characters their own story and background without going overboard. It’s a story that shouldn’t be taken too seriously. A great, fun, clean read for the summer.


Buy Links:

Amazon (Kindle)

Amazon UK (Kindle)

Barnes and Noble (Nook devices)

Google Play (All devices except Kindle)

iBooks Store (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac)

Kobo (All devices except Kindle)

Print (Dead Tree Book)

Bailey_RachelAbout the Author:

Rachel Bailey developed a serious book addiction at a young age (via Peter Rabbit and Jemima Puddle-Duck) and has never recovered. Just how she likes it. She went on to gain degrees in psychology and social work but is now living her dream writing romance for a living. Her books have hit the USA Today bestseller list, are published in over twenty-six countries and have been translated into sixteen languages. She lives on a piece of paradise on Australia’s east …

Author WebsiteFacebook : Twitter :

books1b*I received a copy of this book from NETGALLEY in exchange for an honest review