Book Review: Make You Burn by Megan Crane

isbn9781472236791

Genre: Contemporary Romance. MC Romance.

Meet the Deacons of Bourbon Street, bad boy bikers who are hell on wheels and heaven between the sheets. Fans of Madeline Sheehan, Katie Ashley, Joanna Wylde and Kristen Ashley, buckle up – you’re in for a wild ride. First stop: Make You Burn by Megan Crane.

Sean ‘Ajax’ Harding’s oaths are inked into his skin. Once second-in-command of the Deacons of Bourbon Street motorcycle club, he left New Orleans to protect his brotherhood. But the death of his beloved mentor, Priest Lombard, has lured him back. Heading straight to the club’s hangout, he’s welcomed by the delectable new owner. A wild ride with her is just what he needs – until he finds out she’s Priest’s daughter, all grown up and off limits.

Sophie Lombard loved her father, but she’s done with bikers. Then Ajax roars into town and changes everything. Sophie knows better than to get close to an outlaw but Ajax is impossible to resist. Their chemistry is steamier than the Louisiana bayou – and with heat like this, it might just be worth getting burned.

 

 

SGMyReview

Stepping into the world of the Deacons of Bourbon Street is as thrilling as a fast paced ride on the back of a motorcycle. The first book, Make You Burn, is a scorching read covering loss, love, and tragedy. Sophie tries to navigate life without her father, the president of the local disbanded MC club, after he dies mysteriously in a riding accident. Enter, Ajax, returned home after ten years of exile by Sophie’s dad, slipping into the role of President. 

It was great to read a female lead who gave as good as she got. Sophie did not back down from a guy like Ajax, and was able to me meet him head on, creating chemistry off the charts. There’s a lot of mystery surrounding why Ajax and the three ‘brothers’ were exiled, and whilst you don’t find out in this book, the story line offers enough mystery and clues to start piecing the puzzle together.

“Why had Priest sent four of his most loyal and trusted brothers away ten years ago? Sure, shit had gone down wrong and blood called for blood, but why four exiled lives for one death? That math had never worked”.

I loved the setting of New Orleans-reading her as another character that created depth to the story. The book is full of flawed characters who live in a dark and dirty world. Together, can they create the light that can dim the darkness of the back alleys of NOLA?

A great read for anyone who loves a good, well-written, MC genre story.

~Book 1 in the Deacons of Bourbon Street. Look out for my future reviews of the rest of the series! 

Buy the book

amazon-logo
KoboButton

ibooks-logo

Google-play-logo

About the Author:

megancrane

Megan Crane is a New Jersey native who had great plans to star on Broadway, preferably in Evita, just like Patti LuPone. Sadly, her inability to wow audiences with her singing voice required a backup plan. Accordingly, she graduated from Vassar College and got her MA and PhD in literature from the University of York in England. She wrote her doctoral dissertation on AIDS literature, mostly so she could wallow in her obsession with the remarkable multimedia artist David Wojnarowicz and her idol, the bitter and hilarious David Feinberg. After many years in the rain and subject to the whim of seasons, she followed the sun to Los Angeles, where she lives with too many pets and an artist named Jeff. She is still plotting her Broadway debut.

Visit Megan’s website www.megancrane.com, find her on 63df2-icon-facebook-128 and on twitter-button

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s