Book Review: A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester

AKissfromMRF

Genre: Fiction, Historical Fiction, Women’s Lit.

It’s the roaring twenties in the Manhattan of gin, jazz and prosperity. Women wear makeup and hitched hemlines and enjoy a new freedom to vote and work. Not so for Evelyn Lockhart, who is forbidden from pursuing her passion to become one of the first female doctors. Chasing her dream will mean turning her back on her family: her competitive sister, Viola; her conservative parents; and the childhood best friend she is expected to marry, Charlie.

In a desperate attempt to support herself through Columbia University’s medical school, Evie auditions for the infamous late-night Ziegfeld Follies on Broadway. But if she gets the part, what will it mean for her fledgling relationship with Upper East Side banker Thomas Whitman – a man Evie thinks she could fall in love with, if only she lived a life less scandalous…

Captivating, romantic and tragic, A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald follows a young woman ahead of her time amid the fragile hearts and glamour of Jazz Age New York.

 

 

SGMyReview

This book was simply the bee’s knees! Stepping back in time to the 1920’s was a copacetic experience. Whilst it did take me a little while to get a wiggle on, once I got over the hurdle, there was no turning back..only turning pages! The author has undoubtedly done her research, as there is so much culture spread on to the pages.

giphyThe main character, Evelyn (Evie) Lockhart is definitely not a wallflower. She is smart, clever, and strong. Although some of her choices are questionable, and I’ll admit they left me feeling a little uneasy reading through. Despite that, I was so glad to read all the way in one sitting, and found the ending truly satisfying.

964605036161d5630a6d5d25510043d8This book had me up until 2am in the morning! I could not put it down. The whole book was littered with language from the 1920’s which makes me want to bring it back! With settings like the speakeasy, to sayings like “spifflicated” (something I’ve certainly done on the weekends past), this book is a delightful insight into a woman who is faced with adversity in a time when men ruled, and women kept quiet…until Evelyn Lockhart came along. Much more than a love story.

 

amazonbutton ibooks-logo KoboButtonGoogle-play-logo Buy the book
(This book is also available in paperback from leading book retailers)

Thank you to Hachette Australia and Natasha Lester for the opportunity to read and review this book. 

Book Review: Fire Me Up by Rachael Johns

 

(Deacons of Bourbon Street 2) 

Genre: MC Romance. Contemporary Fiction

Travis “Cash” Sinclair values only two things from his days with the Deacons of Bourbon Street: his prized Harley Davidson and the man who gave it to him. But now Priest Lombard is gone, and Cash has inherited the Deacons’ clubhouse—not to mentions its unexpected tenant. She’s exactly the type of woman he tries to avoid: all incense and art, with a sharp tongue that promises trouble. So why does Cash want to push aside those flowing skirts and lose himself between her legs?

Billie Taylor fled a bad marriage to start a new life among the grit and glamour of the French Quarter. She refuses to let another man distract her from her dreams, especially an outlaw biker with nothing to offer except hot sex and an eviction notice. Cash is dangerous, with an untamed streak he tries desperately to conceal. He drives Billie wild, sending her too close to the edge for her own good. And she won’t fall under his spell—or into his bed—without a fight.

 

SGMyReview

The next instalment in the Deacons of Bourbon Street fills in some more detail surrounding the mysterious death of former President, Priest. Travis “Cash” Sinclair has been let down so many times in life, that he truly believes that he is meant to travel the world alone, never to love.

“If he learned one lesson early in life, it was that the only person you could count on was yourself. He was a lone player now, and that the way he intended to stay.”

That is, until he meets a feisty Australian artist who occupies the art gallery, former home to the clubhouse. Cash comes barreling into Billie’s world and turns it upside down, without ever meaning to. Billie and Cash have a swirling, messy romance, like charcoal on paper. They epitomise the opposites attract analogy; the yin and yang of love.

The author seamlessly recreates the world established by the first author in the series. This is something to be commended when writing in the same world, with some of the same characters from the previous book. The city of New Orleans features once again, as the artistic and historical side starts to come into play. The introduction of the ‘bad bikers’ from the rival motorcycle club ramps up the tension and creates interest and intrigue into the continuing storyline of finding out why Priest died, and why the four brothers left town in the first place. Another great read.

Can’t wait to read the next instalment.

amazonbutton

AuthorWebsitebutton

 

Book Review: Make You Burn by Megan Crane

isbn9781472236791

Genre: Contemporary Romance. MC Romance.

Meet the Deacons of Bourbon Street, bad boy bikers who are hell on wheels and heaven between the sheets. Fans of Madeline Sheehan, Katie Ashley, Joanna Wylde and Kristen Ashley, buckle up – you’re in for a wild ride. First stop: Make You Burn by Megan Crane.

Sean ‘Ajax’ Harding’s oaths are inked into his skin. Once second-in-command of the Deacons of Bourbon Street motorcycle club, he left New Orleans to protect his brotherhood. But the death of his beloved mentor, Priest Lombard, has lured him back. Heading straight to the club’s hangout, he’s welcomed by the delectable new owner. A wild ride with her is just what he needs – until he finds out she’s Priest’s daughter, all grown up and off limits.

Sophie Lombard loved her father, but she’s done with bikers. Then Ajax roars into town and changes everything. Sophie knows better than to get close to an outlaw but Ajax is impossible to resist. Their chemistry is steamier than the Louisiana bayou – and with heat like this, it might just be worth getting burned.

 

 

SGMyReview

Stepping into the world of the Deacons of Bourbon Street is as thrilling as a fast paced ride on the back of a motorcycle. The first book, Make You Burn, is a scorching read covering loss, love, and tragedy. Sophie tries to navigate life without her father, the president of the local disbanded MC club, after he dies mysteriously in a riding accident. Enter, Ajax, returned home after ten years of exile by Sophie’s dad, slipping into the role of President. 

It was great to read a female lead who gave as good as she got. Sophie did not back down from a guy like Ajax, and was able to me meet him head on, creating chemistry off the charts. There’s a lot of mystery surrounding why Ajax and the three ‘brothers’ were exiled, and whilst you don’t find out in this book, the story line offers enough mystery and clues to start piecing the puzzle together.

“Why had Priest sent four of his most loyal and trusted brothers away ten years ago? Sure, shit had gone down wrong and blood called for blood, but why four exiled lives for one death? That math had never worked”.

I loved the setting of New Orleans-reading her as another character that created depth to the story. The book is full of flawed characters who live in a dark and dirty world. Together, can they create the light that can dim the darkness of the back alleys of NOLA?

A great read for anyone who loves a good, well-written, MC genre story.

~Book 1 in the Deacons of Bourbon Street. Look out for my future reviews of the rest of the series! 

Buy the book

amazon-logo
KoboButton

ibooks-logo

Google-play-logo

About the Author:

megancrane

Megan Crane is a New Jersey native who had great plans to star on Broadway, preferably in Evita, just like Patti LuPone. Sadly, her inability to wow audiences with her singing voice required a backup plan. Accordingly, she graduated from Vassar College and got her MA and PhD in literature from the University of York in England. She wrote her doctoral dissertation on AIDS literature, mostly so she could wallow in her obsession with the remarkable multimedia artist David Wojnarowicz and her idol, the bitter and hilarious David Feinberg. After many years in the rain and subject to the whim of seasons, she followed the sun to Los Angeles, where she lives with too many pets and an artist named Jeff. She is still plotting her Broadway debut.

Visit Megan’s website www.megancrane.com, find her on 63df2-icon-facebook-128 and on twitter-button